Pakistan skipper Babar Azam has ruled out a return for veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik to the T-20 squad ahead of the 2022 World Cup 2022 in Australia, saying the team needed to give youngsters more opportunities and chances to develop their game.

Malik, who played the last of his 124 T-20 International matches against Bangladesh last November, has impressed in the Pakistan Premier league and with the Asia Cup and World Cup tournament on the horizon, local media suggested the 40-year-old’s experience could prove fabulous. Overall, Shoaib Malik has featured in 124 T20 games for Pakistan and scored 2435 runs at an average of 31.20 and strike rate of 125.60.

2022 World Cup 2022

Babar wants to give plenty of chances to Youngsters ahead of 2022 World Cup 2022

There was no place for the former skipper, a great all-rounder, in the team for this month’s Asia Cup in the United Arab Emirates and Babar said they were keeping in the sight the future with the World Cup clash coming up in October-November. Ahead of their Netherlands tour, Babar Azam said,“There are (Asia Cup) matches just after the Netherlands’ tour, so it’s unlikely there will be time for making any changes in the group”.

“When senior players leave thes group and then those players replacing them need to maintain high focus in their game. That is why we want to give them enough match experience and opportunity so that these players can perform very well in the future. Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik were big players for us and we’ll miss them always, and players like Asif Ali, Khushdil Shah, and Iftikhar (Ahmed) need to fill their space in the team.”

Pakistan will play 3 ODI in Rotterdam before arriving in the United Arab Emirates where it begins its Asia Cup league. Pakistan commences their Asia T20 Cup 2022 campaign, against India on Sunday, August, 28 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Then they faced qualifier-1 in their last group game on September, 2.

Pakistan Squad for T20 Asia Cup 2022

 Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Shahnawaz Dahani, Khushdil Shah, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Haider Ali, Usman Qadir.