CSK Squad 2022: Top Pick Deepak Chahar

CSK Squad 2022: Whenever the Chennai Super Kings enter the IPL auction, they always try to retain their core. They always build their team around their retained players. They did exactly by reacquiring seven players who were part of CSK’s squad 2021 in the auction. The tally goes to eleven players when we add retain players.

In T20 cricket, generally, the experience gets overshadowed by the energy of the younger players. However, CSK has a different point of view. CSK always trusts its experienced players and always believes in giving chances to its players even they fail. This is the main reason for the Yellow army’s success.

CSK Squad 2022

CSK Retained Players 2022

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, and Ruturaj Gaikwad are the first four players of CSK squad 2022.

1. MS Dhoni

Most of us thought that Dhoni would not play the next edition of the Indian Premier League. However, he proved everyone wrong and made himself available for the IPL 2022. CSK has retained him for INR 12 crore, he agreed in less amount so that other players get a better deal. This is Thala Dhoni for Chennai Super Kings.

MS Dhoni is the main architect in CSK’s success in the Indian Premier League until now. Under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings managed to clinch four IPL titles and two Champion League trophies. Chennai manage to enter in 9 IPL finals under his captaincy and every IPL season, CSK qualified for the playoffs except in IPL 2020, when they faced their worst season. He also becomes the first captain to win 100 matches for CSK in the Indian Premier League.

With 220 IPL matches under his belt, he has scored 4746 runs at a fantastic strike rate of above 135. He usually batted at no.4 for CSK and has an average of near 40, which is great for a batter who usually bats at no.4. He also smashed 219 6’s and 325 4’s in the IPL.

2. Ravindra Jadeja

Chennai-based Franchise has signed Ravindra Jadeja for INR 16 crore. With this price, Ravindra Jadeja becomes the highest-paid cricketer by the Chennai Super Kings Franchise. MS who was retained ahead of IPL 2018 in INR 15 Crore become the second most expensive CSK player. The All-rounder has been given finisher duty for the last few seasons.

The left-handed orthodox spinner has played an important role in winning the IPL title in 2021. He has scored 227 runs at an impressive average of 75.66 and also picked 13 wickets in IPL 2021. Overall he has played 200 IPL matches and scored 2386 runs. He took 127 wickets in the Indian Premier League.

3. Ruturaj Gaikwad

When Chennai Super Kings picked Ruturaj Gaikwad at his base price of Rs 20 lakh in the IPL 2019 auction, who thought he would score the most runs in IPL 2021 and play a key role in helping CSK comeback from their worst season. That is why he was picked ahead of Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo, Faf Du Plessis, and Ambati Rayudu. CSK retained him for INR 4 crore.

The Right-handed opening batsman made his debut in IPL 2020 and never looked back after that. When most of the CSK’s batsmen struggled in IPL 2020, he scored 204 runs with an average of 51 in 6 IPL matches including three consecutive half-centuries. Overall he has played 22 IPL matches and scored 839 runs at an impressive average of 46.61. He scored these runs at a healthy strike rate of 132.12.

4. Moeen Ali

The one thing that was missing in Chennai Super Kings’ squad in IPL 2020 was they were unable to give their inning’s acceleration in the middle overs. That was the main reason for their downfall in the IPL 2020. They resolve this issue ahead of IPL 2021 by picking Moeen Ali for INR 7 crore in IPL 2021 auction. Moeen Ali who was batted at no.3 in IPL 2021 provided much-needed acceleration to CSK’s inning. Apart from his batting, he can bowl spin too. That is why Chennai picked him in INR 8 crore ahead of IPL 2022.

Moeen Ali has scored 666 runs at a blistering strike rate of 146.37. He also picked 16 wickets in 34 IPL matches. (source)

CSK Squad 2022

CSK Squad: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Adam Milne, Simarjeet Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Choudhary, Moeen Ali, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Robin Uthappa, Maheesh Theekshana, Dwayne Bravo, K Bhagath Verma, Prashant Solanki, Deepak Chahar, Dwaine Pretorius, KM Asif, Ambati Rayudu, Devon Conway, C Hari Nishanth, Shivam Dube, Subhranshu Senapati, Mitchell Santner, Tushar Deshpande, N Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan.

Are you satisfied with CSK squad 2022? Comment.

Related posts

IPL 2023 Auction Can Happen On This Day

An eagerly-anticipated franchise-based T20 league, IPL’s next season will get underway on…
Read more

IPL Kis Channel Par Aayega 2023 Mein

You will get to know about IPL Kis Channel Par Aayega 2023 Mein (means- Which Channel will broadcast…
Read more
Dream11 Prediction Today MatchIPL

RR vs BLR: Today IPL Match Dream11 Prediction

Welcome to Today IPL Match Dream11 Prediction between Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challenger…
Read more